zu hause · at home · chez nous 

 

 

How would we like to live our old age?

 

HABITATS is a forum for arts, sciences, and public consultation that will stretch over the course of three years. The project is organized by UN ET UN FONT MILLE under the artistic direction of François Grisé in collaboration with the GOETHE-INSTITUT, ÉLISABETH BRUYÈRE SCHOOL OF SOCIAL INNOVATIONPERCOLAB and PRÉSÂGES.

 

HABITATS is an opportunity to create a space for active reflection and collective consultation around questions such as: How would we like to live our old age? How do we create living spaces that respond to the needs of aging human beings? They are adults, self-determined, and equipped with the ability to act. How do we connect all those who experience old age? These are not just the people who are in fact old, but also the relatives who take care of them, the communities in which they live, and society as a whole.

 

Breaking down silos

 

HABITATS wants to break down silos between the spheres of knowledge. In a melting pot, HABITATS incorporates scientific and empirical knowledge, knowledge connected to the imagination and to artistic processes, as well as entrenched popular knowledge. To reach this goal, the forum gathers actors from the arts and sciences who are interested in this reality of ageing.

 

In addition – or probably better to say, first and foremost – HABITATS wants to give interested women and men of all ages who are not specialists, the opportunity to reflect collectively on these questions.

 

Knowledge architecture

 

HABITATS is not a conventional encounter like a conference where people listen to speakers share their knowledge. It’s more like a space for active reflecting in order to create a type of architecture made of ideas, something alive, able to evolve, and fueled by everyone involved.

 

This is why the concept and realization of HABITATS is based on the process of codesign where all involved parties take part in the process of reflection and creation. It is also inspired by the methods and principles of fiction design where reflection is materialized in a concrete manner by imagining visions of the future that allow us to get a better grasp of the presence.

 

Diffusing knowledge with the goal of involvement and education

 

HABITATS also views itself as an open agora whose questions, reflections, and knowledge will become accessible to the general public “in real time”.

 

For this purpose, we will create a diffusion platform where the different stages and components of the forum will be made public. We will share the knowledge via works of art, comprehensible publications, and accessible and widely available forms of information.

The intention to make knowledge accessible and to communicate it, is at the very core of HABITATS: to include, educate, and inform ordinary people and give them the feeling that they have the ability to act in the face of these realities and questions.

 

A process where time plays a major role

 

HABITAT stretches over a period of three years. There will be an initial meeting in October 2020, followed by three yearly large group forums in October 2021, 2022, and 2023. These encounters will be an opportunity to refine the basic questioning, and the reflection on actions and artistic, scientific, and “community-type” projects.

 

The projects will be continued during the year in-between the annual forums. These events offer the opportunity to make a point, to fine-tune and detail the ongoing reflection. The forums will also be an opportunity to share the results of the work during the year and make them available to the general public.

 

Taking the time together

 

We believe that it is crucial to gather a group of women and men who will allow reflecting in a non-academic format. It is also crucial that we are given time for this collective conception in order to break the “specialist” approach to these questions.

 

With HABITATS, we strive to create for the general public an agora that stands out by its duration. Because we believe that when faced with these questions, sufficient patience is needed so that truly new ideas can emerge. Ideas that will break the loneliness, the taboo, and the isolation of denial. Ideas that question the status quo. Ideas that, we hope, will return to us some sort of power to self-determination so that we can live our old age with imagination and liberty.

geothe_logo.png
presages_logo.png
percolab_logo.png
ecoleinnovationsociale_logo.jpg

zu hause · at home · chez nous

 

 

Comment voulons-nous habiter notre vieillesse?

 

HABITATS est un forum ouvert arts, sciences et consultations publiques qui s’étendra sur une période de trois ans. Il est mis de l’avant par UN ET UN FONT MILLE et son directeur artistique François Grisé en collaboration avec L’INSTITUT GOETHE, L'ÉCOLE D'INNOVATION SOCIALE ÉLISABETH BRUYÈRE, PERCOLAB et PRÉSÂGES.

 

HABITATS est l’occasion de créer un espace de réflexion active et de consultation collective autour des questions : Comment voulons-nous habiter notre vieillesse ? Comment créer des habitats qui répondent à nos besoins d’humains vieillissants ? Adultes, auto-déterminés, doués d’un pouvoir d’action. Comment créer des liens entre tous ceux qui vivent le vieillissement ? Les aînés, bien sûr, mais aussi, les proches aidants, les communautés, les sociétés.

 

Briser les silos

 

HABITATS veut briser les silos entre les savoirs. HABITATS incorpore, au même creuset, les savoirs scientifiques et empiriques; ceux liés à l’imagination et au processus artistique, ainsi que les savoirs populaires incarnés. Pour ce faire, le forum rassemble des acteurs des milieux artistiques et scientifiques qui s’intéressent à cette réalité du vieillissement.

 

Il veut aussi – peut-être, surtout – donner le temps et l’espace à des femmes et des hommes de tous âges qui, sans être des spécialistes, ont envie de réfléchir collectivement autour de ces questions.

 

Architecture des savoirs

 

HABITATS n’est pas une rencontre en format conférence où des gens viennent écouter des détenteurs de savoirs. Il s’agit plutôt d’un espace actif de réflexions pour créer une forme d’architecture des idées, vivante, évolutive et propulsée par tous ses intervenants.

 

C’est pourquoi sa conception et sa réalisation prendront leurs sources dans les processus du design participatif (codesign); un mode opératoire où toutes les parties impliquées participent à la création du processus de réflexion et de création. Il s’inspirera aussi des méthodes et principes de réflexion du design spéculatif (fiction design). Une façon de matérialiser la réflexion de façon concrète en imaginant des visions du futur, qui nous permettent de mieux saisir le présent.

 

Diffuser pour impliquer et éduquer

 

HABITATS se veut aussi une agora décloisonnée. Ses questions, ses réflexions et ses savoirs deviendront accessibles au grand public « en temps réel ».

 

Pour ce faire, nous créerons une plateforme de diffusion qui rendra publiques les différentes étapes et volets du forum. Nous partagerons les savoirs par des œuvres d’art, des publications compréhensibles et des formes d’information accessibles et vulgarisées.

 

Cette intention de rendre accessibles et de communiquer les savoirs est au cœur d’HABITATS; pour inclure, éduquer, informer et donner aux gens ordinaires le sentiment du pouvoir d’agir devant ces réalités et ces questions.

 

Un processus inscrit dans le temps

 

HABITAT s’étendra sur une période de trois ans. Il comportera un moment de rencontre initiale (octobre 2020) et trois forums annuels en grand groupe (octobre 2021, 2022 et 2023). Ces moments de rencontres seront l’occasion de se réunir pour préciser les axes de questionnement, de réflexion pour les actions, les projets  – artistiques, scientifiques, « communautaires » – en lien avec ces axes.

 

Ces projets seront menés au fil de l’année entre chacun des forums annuels. Les forums, seront l’occasion de faire le point, de préciser et d’affiner la réflexion. Ils seront aussi l’occasion de partager et rendre accessible au grand public les résultats du travail au cours de l’année.

 

Prendre le temps ensemble

 

Nous croyons qu’il est primordial de réunir un assemblage de femmes et d’hommes qui permet la réflexion active dans un format non académique. Il est primordial de nous donner ce temps d’idéation collective pour casser la posture « spécialiste » devant ces questions.

 

Avec HABITATS, nous voulons créer une agora populaire qui s’inscrit dans la durée. Car nous croyons qu’il faut avoir la patience de rester face aux questions assez longtemps pour laisser naître des idées vraiment nouvelles. Des idées qui brisent la solitude, le tabou et l’isolement du déni; des idées qui remettent en cause le statu quo; des idées qui, nous l’espérons, nous redonnent une forme de pouvoir d’autodétermination pour habiter notre vieillesse avec imagination et liberté.

geothe_logo.png
presages_logo.png
percolab_logo.png
ecoleinnovationsociale_logo.jpg